Works for Dance

Imposter (2016) deals with the recovery of mental illness through the power of a strong community. The music is organized into five distinct, polystylistic sections. The first is a dissonant, sustained texture that introduces a harsh rhythmic motive and a lyrical melodic motive. The middle three sections are each based on a movement style of one of the choreographers. The final section is a return to the opening texture, though now new material has been added to its DNA. Different qualities of the middle sections have influenced and changed the original texture for the better, akin to adopting and allowing positive influence from other people and cultures to positively influence one's life and mental health. 

Choreography by: Jazmine Taylor-Hughlett, Whitley Green, and Amy Syper
Music by: Evan O. Adams


Switch (2016) tackles the theme of survival of the fittest within a natural context. 

Choreography by: Maiya Wenzel and Jazmine Taylor-Hughlett
Music by: Evan O. Adams


Whatever Will Be, Will Be (2016) tells the intimate story of two friends who must part ways as part of the natural course of life. The music is composed in a heavily motivic style, with the initial melodic motive in the piano laying the seed for the entirety of the composition.

Choreography by: Amy Syper and Jocelyn Schimpf
Music By: Evan O. Adams


In Low-Hanging Fruit (2016) the protagonist, an overworked busy-body, learns to let loose with the help of her inner child(ren). The music rigorously shifts between a rigid march and a more lyrical line, each in two different key areas, representing the conflict of desires within the protagonist. 

Choreography by: Whitley Green, Stephanie Hayden, Joseph Stevens
Music by: Evan O. Adams